Tags

, ,


“It’s 11 o’clock. Do you know where your children are?”

I can remember hearing that every night on the television before the 11 o’clock news. But last night, I heard it differently…

“It’s 11 o’clock. Do you know where your parents are?”

No, not my parents…Apparently Hubby and I missed our curfew (the last time I checked, I stopped having a curfew after I became a parent)!  When we walked in late last night, Big Guy already tousle-headed from being in bed, met us with “There you are! I was beginning to wonder if I should call you to make sure nothing had happened?” I had to admit that the meeting we had gone to at the church had finished surprisingly early, and we had gone out for an impromptu “girls’ night”. “That would have been nice to know”, he huffed. “You should have called”.

Now he’s had a taste of how it feels to be a parent – running worst-case scenarios through your mind, hoping you trained them to handle whatever they were facing, and praying they’re safe while plotting their punishment so you can “nail” them the minute they walk in the door. Before the excuses and explanations.

I wasn’t sure Hubby would agree to meet 2 of my girlfriends for “coffee” after the meeting. For one thing, he doesn’t drink coffee after 2 p.m. For another thing, it was with 2 of my girlfriends, and that’s not usually the way any guy plans to end a long day! But I have to admit he seemed pretty comfortable joining in on the conversation between sips of a fruit smoothie (while we devoured our own decadent desserts)! Even during the conversations about “Milady’s Lace”, Grey’s Anatomy, and Drag Queens. (surprisingly, none of those topics related to one another…).

It was a late night. It was a great night. (At least until the cake took it’s revenge at 4 o’clock this morning). I have suffered with a sugar-induced “hangover” coupled with the lack of sleep all day, but I had fun with my “girlfriends”! Being scolded by Big Guy for staying out too late was just more icing on the cake! But the best part about a girls’ night with Hubby…

Happy Weekend!

