Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


I hate Mondays!

Garfield

It was lovely to get a surprise text from Youngest Son early this morning, but unfortunately, it wasn’t good news. He had come up with a Plan C for the summer and began the process to make it happen.

It’s not going to happen!

His plan was to stay in residence and knock off a few courses, ones coming up and ones he messed up. But when he went to register for the Summer today (which was the date given in an email…but I’m concerned he misread), everything was full, closed and had no waiting list. Finding information and next steps is virtually impossible in this institution’s horrendous website. He was pretty discouraged.

So instead of tackling the weekend dishes and bathing Angus, my skinny pig, I spent the morning on the phone and on my knees, talking it through with Youngest Son, and my Heavenly father.

We made plans but there is still work to be done and some tough decisions need to be made. It might also involve a tragically early trip to move him out of residence…(and just when he was making friends)!

I reminded Youngest Son that God has a plan and sometimes He allows rough seas and defeats to grow us and refine us. Some day he’ll see how it all fit together in his journey.

I know he’s still stressed. I’m stressing with him in spirit.

Which is why, now that the day is half over, I settled down for a quick lunch and a calming cup of Lavender Tulsi tea by Stash Tea. It is caffeine free, with only 2 ingredients: lavender and tulsi leaves.

Lavender is an herbaceous shrub and part of the mint family. It’s rich purple flowers bloom in the summer. These aromatic petals are often used beauty products and knicker drawer sachets, but it can also be used in baking or distilled to produce essential oils. Lavender can help relieve stress, ease headaches improve mood, promote restful sleep, prevent infections, reduce inflammation, and ease bloating. Tea is probably the best way to ingest it. However, it should not be given to developing children because it can affect hormone levels.

Tulsi, or holy basil, is a sweet and aromatic herb thought to relieve anxiety, stress, acne, and respiratory issues such as the common cold. It may also reduce inflammation and pain, and boost the immune system. Normally, it’s used as an oil or tea because it has a bitter flavour.

The explosion of flowers was very strong when I opened the sachet, and I was concerned that this would be a very flowery tea. Instead, it reminded me strongly of plain old grassy chamomile, but with a very slight peppery zing. I’m not a fan of chamomile. However, I know that inhaling the aroma of lavender is said to relieve headaches and relieve stress, so I enjoyed the aroma and the ceremony in making tea.

When your day seems topsy turvy and as stormy as can be,
there’s nothing quite as tranquil as a hot cup of tea.

Unknown