Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Dear Diary – In 1955, The Platters sang “Sweet sixteen and never been kissed, my teenage queen, I can’t resist kissing you”. Here we are at Week 16 and in my part of the world, so far this year, Mother Nature has kissed us with sun, cloud, rain, freezing rain, ice, wind, flurries, hail, sleet, snow blizzards, and a spectacular full solar eclipse. The temperature yo-yo-ed so much our shorts are now hanging in the closet with our flannel shirts.

This week, we’ve mostly been blessed with April showers, and I’m beginning to see flowers. I have one mini daffodil smiling at me from the back garden. I’ll take rain over what we had in 2022: snow! Sure, we live in Canada. And, sure, it’s not that uncommon to see snow in April. Our A/C unit was installed in the snow in early May over 22 years ago. Still, the flurries prompted a flurry of photos and expletives on Facebook. As a nation, we may be divided on many issues, but we were united in this: We were done with winter!

The birds are furiously chowing down at the feeder and it’s getting darker. We may be in for something gross! I hope it’s not snow…

Dear Diary- I suggested Hubby could support me by sharing some of my business posts on his Facebook page. After all, his circle of friends is slightly different from mine. So he did…and he called me 10 minutes after he did.

My new cat bag was sold!

That sale to his co-worker sparked interest and I made a further sale: a knot bag and 2 little bags for game pieces!

Dear Diary – I really thought Angus was on death row. I’ve noticed him moving around less and when I spotted blood and heard him whimpering one afternoon, I knew something was up. I had an appointment for Friday that got moved to Saturday. Saturday morning I was an emotional mess as we had what could be our finally cuddle.

Angus objected as usual.

That emotion continued to spill over in the Vet’s office but he understood. Angus may be a curmudgeon, but he’s my curmudgeon. He does have some sort of infection on his feet but not as bad as I feared. I have continued with the epsom salt baths in the evening and he seems to really enjoy it. He relaxes as soon as the first foot hits the warm water. Sometimes he pees. Sometimes he makes that face like he’s going to poo, and if I ask him if that’s what he’s doing, he chatters his teeth at me. I guess he wants his privacy.

I’ll try to take a photo for next week.

I suspect he’ll be a handful when I have to get him take his antibiotics and reasoning with him is like reasoning with a two year old having a full-on meltdown. But I will persist. I want my curmudgeon around a little longer…even if he won’t cuddle.

No touching!

Dear Diary – One Great pottery Throwdown contestant introduced us to her sheep, who she named “mint sauce”. What a wonderfully weird name! It’s right up there with a fish named “Sushi” and a cat named “Stupid”.

Dear Diary – I’m meeting with my family doctor to find out if my medication is impacting my bone health. I know that gentle weight bearing exercises would be beneficial.

I told my husband I lifted weights today.

He replied, “to dust under them?”.

Dear Diary – Youngest Son texted on Monday morning, frustrated (again!!) with his college and their inept website and lack of staff to answer questions…not just in t timey manner but ever.

He had hoped to register for a few classes over the summer to lighten his load in the Fall. Three adults have searched at various times to find the informaton for when and how to do this. He found something that said April 15. But it turns out registration was in February. He’s out of luck.

He’s already applied for residence for the summer, which is an expensive way to spend the summer without courses or a job. He doesn’t know if he’s been approved for residence and if not, we have to move him out by 11 a.m. Saturday. It doesn’t matter that we live almost 2 hours away or that his final exam is Friday evening.

I think he should cut his losses, apply to another college and transfer what he can!

And all just as he was starting to make friends and leave his room.

I was so looking forward to releasing the stresses of school life, having suffered endured 3 decades worth of stupidity and politics (don’t they go hand in hand?) but apparently I have yet to earn my rest.

Pray for us. We need patience. We need wisdom. And come Saturday morning, we may need lots of caffeine!

Dear Diary – I was driving behind a school board van today and I objected to his driving logic. He drove 10 km under the speed limit in the school zone, presumably for safety reasons, but then he barely slowed for the stop sign and turn streaked left without signalling!

Dear Diary – Spring is in the air or is it love? I’m noticing lots of frisky squirrels frolicking in the yard and trees. And I heard a cat yowling for a mate this morning.

My parents have a mourning dove that is also part of the dating scene. It’s been sitting on their car side mirror and flirting…with it’s reflection. Sadly, it’s not making time.

It’s also not making friends with my folks because it’s relieving itself profusely while it’s courting!

Dear Diary – It’s no wonder people struggle with English. We’ve started watching t.v. with the closed captioning on because sometimes one of us (not me!) has trouble hearing. But the closed captioning is also a source of amusement. This week we laughed over someone struggling to bake their apple and camel pie (i.e., apple and caramel), while another contestant was talking about where his fate rests and it transcribed it as “my fake breasts”.

Dear Diary – I’ve been terrible at keeping up with my New Year’s Resolution to try new recipes. I did, however, attempt pork chops again in the air fryer using Skinny Taste’s cooking instructions. I breaded them with own concoction of panko, herbs and spices , and they were pretty good.

Yesterday, I didn’t sleep well so I slept in and then spent the rest of the day feeling at least 5 hours behind. I never did get to the pile of dishes or the laundry. I did, however, go with my friend for her third attempt to get her medication. She has had 2 very expensive self-injector devices fail. Thank goodness the third time was the charm!

After her appointment she asked me if we could go somewhere so she could get a pizza. So we did, and I decided I was going to be home so late, I might as well buy a pizza too.

Obviously I was too tired to make clear and rational decisions. I confused non-dairy cheese with lactose-free cheese, so my excitement was unwarranted. Non-dairy cheese is all kinds of wrong! It doesn’t melt well and what did melt was best described as “tasteless, gummy goo”. Non-dairy or vegan cheese is either plant, nut, veggie oil, coconut oil, or soy based. It’s supposed to be less fatty than moo cheese and contain more B12.

Hubby has decided my homemade pizza is significantly better than Pizza Pizza (I could have told him that). And I’m sorry, but for us, that cheese had better come from something that bleats or moos!

Sweet dreams are made of cheese
Who am I to diss a brie?
I cheddar the world and the feta cheese
Everybody’s looking for stilton.

Unknown