Tags

, , , , ,


Dear Diary – In some part of the world, the number 13 is considered lucky, like Brazil. In Southeast Asia, it’s viewed as “luck or good fortune”, and in parts of Italy, it’s associated with the goddess of fertility and abundance. I view it as just another number.

The first day of Spring was celebrated this week, which could be considered good fortune. I don’t know too many people who enjoy all that Canadian Winter has to offer. Hubby and I enjoyed it with strong winds and heavy snow swirling around us. Hubby even consented to working from home, anticipating sketchy roads.

Which made his assent to picking up McDonald’s for dinner so confusing.

We braved the roads and they were far worse than anticipated. So were the drivers!! But we made it home, as documented by this photo, since I snapped it at home and not at a mechanics.

Welcome Spring!

That’ll teach me to mock the people who “flew south” to avoid bad weather…

Dear Diary – Why do we wait until funerals to catch up with old friends?

This weekend, I attended the visitation of a dear friend’s Mom. Oddly enough, it was the 5 year anniversary of this dear friend’s funeral. It was there I reconnected with someone from what feels like a former life. We’re going to try to meet for coffee in April.

We’re both scatter-brained, so it might be May.

Hopefully by then, the snow will be gone for good this time.

Dear Diary – Hubby got a new mouth guard and look, the dentist passed on the mold for it.

I’m so thrilled!

Dear Diary – I was on the worship team on Sunday and I blew it. The guitarist started the intro but at a different rhythm and it threw me off. So much so, I looked over at my iPad because I thought “did I hit the wrong song?”. My panic was captured on video and immortalized on Youtube. I started late…or was it early. By the chorus, I thought we were back on track and that we stayed that way for the rest of the song. The raised eyebrows of the guitar player as she turned and looked wide-eyed at the electric guitar player suggests, not.

I got through the first 2 songs. Relieved, I hit the button for the third song, which I was not leading, and turned the page. I was the only instrument for the intro…

Nausea washed over me as the countdown began and I had flipped to the last song.

Fortunately I remembered the first 3 chords so I started playing and tried to calmly flip back. I had time. Only I flipped back to song #2 again. I tried again, and again. And yet again. What was going on? One paperclip, attached to aid in page turning had shifted and was firmly clenching an extra page, like a person with diarrhea stuck in a long line for the bathroom.

It was as if my reoccurring nightmare was coming. Being on the platform during a service without music. At least in real life, I knew what song we were supposed to be doing. I just couldn’t get to it!

We were on page 2 by the time I managed to sort it out. Sweat was collecting in pools in my black Mary Jane’s. I think I saw people in the front row breathe a sigh of relief after watching my obvious distress and flurry of activity on the right side of my binder.

A new guy came up after the service to tell the other vocalist how awesome she is (and she is) and to ask how long she’s been leading. When he realized I was there within earshot, he grinned at me like he was smelling something rotten. Yeah, dude, I got it!

Do something awesome, nobody sees it. Do something embarrassing, everyone sees it.

Unknown

Dear Diary – When Dad started texting me about fabric, I knew exactly where he was: Hobby Lobby! I’ve never been but I’ve heard it’s a crafter’s paradise. Maybe this summer Mom and I can go “Thelma & Louise” (minus the sex and cliff diving) and go shopping!!

It isn’t the fall that kills you. It’s the sudden stop at the end.

Douglas Adams

Dear Diary – I went to Fabricland and exercised great control. I bought zippers and D-rings and webbing as planned. I had a list! I also bought fabric for a yoga bag and a scrub cap, but at 50% off. Unfortunately the strapping is the wrong size. I now have enough webbing to do 1 strap…on 2 different bags.

Dear Diary – I’ve heard of a cat in the hat, but not a cat in the sink!

Youngest Son has a new pet too.

Youngest Son’s bedroom screen has a hole in it, and someone has made a nest.

I’m guessing someone may have babies soon. No sleep for Youngest Son.

Dear Diary – Instead of trying a new recipe this week, I worked on technique by cooking beef filets in a cast iron frying pan. They were almost perfect!

Dear Diary – I joined my friend at her appointment for her next injection and training so she can do it on her own (she’s adamant she can’t). It turned out, it was also the nurse’s first time to do it too, so we all watched the video together. It’s way more complicated than mine. She has to load a device with a cartridge and then tape it to her body. The device does the rest.

Once it was all set up and the green light was flashing, it was go time. It poked her, which she said didn’t hurt, and then the device freaked out. So did we! It started beeping rapidly and flashing a red light, which meant the device had failed to deploy. The poor nurse turned white and dashed from the room to get her colleague. The device will have to be sent back to the manufacturer and my friend will have to wait for another to arrive.

My friend is trained now, but she definitely refuses to do it herself now!

Dear Diary – I’m not sure if I’m going to get Eldest Son and his girlfriend for a meal on Easter Sunday. I got a text last night for prayer because his girlfriend’s passport is missing. He’s spending the week in a tropical paradise with his girlfriend, her sister and her Mom. They can’t all afford to miss work and I don’t know if plane tickets can be deferred. What a mess!

But as a mutual friend said, “it’s not a bad place to be stuck for a few days”.

Dear Diary – I tried to renew prescriptions today but the auto-renew phone system didn’t like me. I put in my renewal number and hit # as directed. It told me my birth year didn’t match their records. It never asked for my birthdate.

It told me to try my birth year again. I did. It complained again (and it was rather snarky about it). I had to wait to talk to a real person.

Both should be ready today.

Dear Diary – Hubby decided he’d work from home today, rather than going in late and working late. He is planning to pick up Youngest Son after his class tonight, which ends at 10. I’m excited that Youngest Son wants to come home.

Initially Hubby had decided he’d go to work as usual and just find a parking lot to sleep in. I texted him, asked him if he really preferred a parking lot over being home with me?

It took him over an hour to respond.

Hubby is slightly better company than Angus these days. Angus rarely leaves his house and he’s booping it around less. I don’t know if he’s not feeling well, or after 3 weeks of daily antibiotics, he’s terrified I’m going to pick him up.

The other day I cut open one end of an empty cracker box, and cut a window in the other end. Angus won’t go in it, but I caught him napping outside it, with his nose in the window. Again, like a small child, if I can’t see you, you can’t see me.

Dear Diary – Mom accidentally bought decaf tea. The world might be ending.

It gets worse.

Youngest Son, who we’ve been harassing bugging asking for weeks to apply for Summer jobs, and who has been considering whether to work for a year or finish his college program next Fall, texted that he’d like to do summer school!

He’s getting along well with his roommates which is a blessing after so many years alone in his Batcave room, thanks to Covid shutdowns. Also, he wouldn’t have the stress of moving out. (Or getting a job!) He sounded good, like he’s thought about it and feeling positive. Yes, it negates getting a job but if he’s happy and doing something useful, it’s grand.

Dear Diary – I’m only fluent in 2 out of 3 languages: English and sarcasm. I need to work on keeping my mouth shut.

There’s even a warning in the Bible: Watch your tongue and keep your mouth shut, and you will stay out of trouble. (Prov. 21:23 NLT)

You’d think I’d learn, but here I am again. Hello Old friends, Rock and Hard place.