Tags

, , , , , , , ,


The sun is shining today, which is awesome, because yesterday Daylight Savings Time kicked in and we’re all feeling like we’ve been kicked! I had to get up at 5:30 (old time) after a fairly sleepless night worrying about my alarm going at the right time, so I could look human even if I didn’t feel like it get dressed and help lead worship at church. I spent the remainder of my Sunday in a daze, enjoying a hearty dinner at McDonald’s and falling into bed early.

Where I lay awake for hours.

Irony: a state of affairs or an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often amusing as a result.

Needless to say, I started my day with something strong. That’s why I’m enjoying some sunshine in a cup this afternoon of David’s Tea: Lemon Meringue.

It’s a new flavour to David’s and arrived in a recent order. In fact, it arrived a day early, just in time to go with me to my folks for Youngest Son’s Reading Week. Mom and I sampled it during a family game of Play 9. (Maybe it has special powers because I had the best score!)

It’s on my “must have list” now, not just because I won, but because it has a winning flavour. It promised Lemon Meringue and it delivered. I get Lemon meringue pie. I get lemon cotton candy. I get lemon taffy. It’s sweet, it’s creamy, it’s citrusy, it’s tart. I do think the lemon could be a bit more pronounced, but based on the fact that this tea does not boast any lemon, I’m amazed at how great they mimicked lemon!

This tea has a white tea base. White tea is much more delicate than green or black tea. The leaves are usually hand-plucked before they open fully and they are not fermented at all, which means they retain three times more beneficial antioxidant properties than green tea. Antioxidants help strengthen the immune system. A cup of white tea contains approximately 12 times as many antioxidants as fresh orange juice and contains less caffeine than green tea.

The tea also has apple, candied pineapple, rosehip peel, sweet blackberry leaves, white tea, green tea, and yuzu, but no additional sugar. Yuzu is a yellow citrus fruit, indigenous to Asia. It gives a beautiful citrus note, like a mix of lemon, mandarin, lime and grapefruit in one, along with a savoury, herbaceous quality. It has many of the same benefits as citrus fruits, including lowering inflammation, reducing cholesterol, and boosting heart health.

Plus the smell alone makes my mouth water. And the bright, lemon colour makes me happy! Sunshine in a cup…perfect for a sleepy day. Happy Monday!

Some old fashioned things like fresh air and sunshine are hard to beat.

Laura Ingalls Wilder