Tags

, ,


The pink ribbon is a widely recognized symbol for breast cancer, and it’s become a personal symbol.

Pink Ribbon-Pink Purse

Last July, two of my “La Village” friends, were diagnosed with breast cancer. Both underwent surgeries and treatments, and they are doing well. They are both amazing examples of what it means to joyfully trust God in a scary time.

When I went for my physical this year, I told my Dr. about them, and she agreed to send me for a mammogram.  There was no reason for it save my own peace of mind. This week I had to go back and repeat the breathtaking, woman-handling, plate mashing experience (blue paper dress and icy-handed technician too) again, as well as 2 ultrasounds…and the results are more tests.

Pink Ribbon-Pink Purse

Several weeks ago,  I wrote down this Dallas Willard quote: This will be a test of your joyful confidence in God. The test may simply be waiting for an appointment, or it may be a greater test. Either way, I am determined to hold on with joy.

Pink is more than a colour – it’s an attitude!

To see more “Symbol” photos from others who accepted this week’s challenge, click Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol.