Tags

, ,


liebster-award-logo

I’m excited. I was nominated for the Liebster Award by http://jenniburkeyoga.wordpress.com – THANK YOU! I am clueless when it comes to awards and nomination – so my apologies to all who deserve them more than me, which is just about everyone!

 So now I’m supposed to share 11 (new) interesting facts about me, answer 11 questions (posed by my nominator), and then nominate 11 more bloggers and subject ask them the 11 questions. Here we go –

Eleven (new) random facts about me…hmmm…
1) I can only whistle by sucking in air, not blowing out.
2) I have 2 college degrees, and my law clerk certification, but I often feel inferior because I didn’t go to university. I wanted to have time with my son and get a job as soon as possible so I could support us. I have never regretted making him my priority.
3) I weighed myself this morning – I’m down to 116 pounds! Yeah!!
4) I have been engaged 4 times (if you count that one kid in Kindergarten).
5) With the exception of the days I change the sheets, I never make my bed. If there’s a wad of blankets piled up in the middle and it’s bedtime, I just crawl in. Drives Hubby crazy but then, 6) I usually sleep alone!
7) My favourite TV show is The Big Bang Theory…I live with an engineer…
8) I dream all the time, and I remember my dreams. Consequently, I experience déjà vu a lot too! Sometimes it’s creepy…
9) None of the boys would dance with me at our Grade 8 graduation dance because I was “square) (i.e., I wouldn’t let them feel me up).
10) I had a date for my Grade 12 graduation dance…but he was more interested in my single friend. He offered to dance the last dance (the most important one) with both of us, at the same time. I declined…I have some dignity!
11) I have a weird attraction to obese stuffed animals!

My answers to the 11 questions (and these questions were tough – I’m old, and I’m still “sick”):

What is your favorite quote?
“A woman is like a tea bag. You never know how strong she is until she gets into hot water.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

What is your favorite season?
Summer. No school!

What is one of your hobbies?
Stamping

What is your favourite form of exercise?
Oh! The E-word. That’s a dirty word. Does belly dancing count? I haven’t done it in a few years but it was a fun way to get in shape. Otherwise, planking – minimal effort = positive results or lifting weights.

What is one piece of advice you’d like to share with the world?
Tea is appropriate it in any situation.

What is your biggest dream?
The same thing every little girl wants – to live happily ever after…maybe in a villa in Tuscany!

Who is your hero/heroine?
If by “hero”, this question asks who do I try to imitate, I’d have to say Christ. I am a Christ-follower. I worship Him. If they mean “hero” as in “super hero”, then how about Larry Boy (from Veggie Tales) with his super-suction ears!

Who is your favourite fictional character and why?
Samwise Gamgee from Lord of the Rings – he is a brave, humble, and faithful servant and friend. He is content to provide support and love in the background, with no desire for or expectation of recognition.

Who is your favourite famous person and why?
Queen Elizabeth I, who once said ” I know I have the body but of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a king.”

What is your favourite book and why?
Pilgrim by Timothy Findley. Captivating story.

What is your dream retirement?
Not living in a cardboard box on my son’s balcony! Some place warm or exotic.

My nominations are, in no particular order, and hopefully to those with fewer than 200 followers (sorry others)…

1) Mommy Verbs – working Mama, embracer of mid-life, engager in life – one action word at a time. ) http://mommyverbs.wordpress.com/

2) Ramblings of a Quick Wit: A quirky Mom, with an intense dislike of vehicle family stickers…and other ramblings. http://quickwittier.wordpress.com/

3) Jump for Joy Project: beautiful pictures to capture the importance of play! http://jumpforjoyphotoproject.wordpress.com/

4) Coach Daddy: a name that reflects his two greatest passions. He writes with humour and a love for the “game of life”! (p.s. often refers to food!!) http://coachdaddyblog.wordpress.com/

5) My Sister’s Kidney: started with one purpose that has shifted to let this clever guy’s side out…sometimes thoughtful, sometimes educational, and sometimes…quite mad! http://mysisterskidney.wordpress.com/

6) Brianna With An Aw: Self-described tea lover, fiancée, and verbose by nature. Oh – and her name is pronounced “bree-AH-nuh.” http://briannawithanaw.wordpress.com/

7) My Thin Eats: Because thin people like to eat yummy food too! http://mythineats.com/

8) Thoughts on Theater: I love the bite-sized wisdom, often inspiring quotes and photos. http://thoughtsontheatre.wordpress.com/

9) All Seasons Cyclist: gives honest, tested reviews for avid cyclists. (He even bikes in the winter)! http://allseasonscyclist.com/

10) Hawkworld: A daily look at the life of a Thanangarian Warrior in Mid-Life Crisis. http://cthawkman.com

11) Gluten-Free Gus: provides yummy recipes and tips for gluten-free living. I’ll be visiting often! http://glutenfreegus.com/

Instructions to my nominees: to accept the award, you are to post 11 random facts about yourself and answer 11 questions provided. Please note: I am not creative in making up the questions but I did take out a couple of hard ones for some quirkier ones…you’re welcome! Pass the award on to 11 other bloggers (make sure you tell them you nominated them!) and give them the same instructions! You are not allowed to nominate the blog who nominated you! Make sure the blogs you chose have 200 or LESS followers

The 11 questions are:

What is your favorite quote?

What is your favorite season?

What is one of your hobbies?

What is your favorite dessert?

What is one piece of advice you’d like to share with the world?

What is your biggest dream?

Who is your favourite superhero/heroine?

Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

Who is your favorite famous person and why?

What is your favorite book and why?

What is your current brand of toothpaste?

BEST WISHES!!