Tags

, ,


My boots were made for walking, and that’s just what I did…but not my sassy green boots, or even my black “hooker” boots. No, this past Saturday, I wore comfortable boots and layers of clothing because, along with our Church Jr. Youth Group, I was walking to raise money for a local organization that provides a “hands up” for those in our community. Not only was I raising money for charity, I was walking to be an example to these kids.

‘Do as I say, but not as I do’ is not an effective way of teaching anything.
– John A. Garrity

These kids are part of our future. They are also part of today!

We teach our kids to wait their turn, to make friends, to “play nice” in the sandbox. And even though the sandbox gets larger every year and they meet people who kick sand in their faces, we still expect them to be to consider others.  We tell them they can make a difference in their world by showing mercy and living heart to heart…but so often, we forget to show them the way.

I cannot believe what you say because I see what you do. – anonymous

We are blessed to have amazing youth leaders who give our kids opportunities to serve others. And while I recognize Little Guy’s need for time away from Mom and Dad, this time I felt the need to get involved too. 

I needed to show them that I supported what they are doing…and not just with my pocketbook

I need to show them I care about people too…enough to trade my comfortable couch on a Saturday night, for the frigid streets. 

I wasn’t satisfied with sending them off with someone else, I needed to be there too. 

We had a great time! I took lots of photos. We shared snacks. We went out for ice-cream after it was all over (right about the time it started snowing!) And on Sunday morning, we all wore our blue & yellow hats with pom-pom on top! (and you know how much I love hats!) 

dsc_1006-2-640x583

All the ducks in a row…

Yes, we got cold! Our cheeks turned red and our noses ran. By the time we finished our 5K walk, our bodies were tired (and mine ached in weird places). Our walk didn’t “change the world”, but we may have helped make it better for someone. And maybe these kids’ boots will keep on walking for a lot of years to come …

The most powerful way to change the world is to live our lives in front of our children the way we would like the world to be. -Graham R. White

***

This has been a “10 Minute Monday” post (where I write about whatever I want for a minimum 10 minutes, no editing – mayhem, memories, maudlin mumblings, or  “mwa ha ha” moments.

 

