Tags

, ,


“Anticipation makes pleasure more intense.” – Iris Johansen

My Mom always baked cookies with us as kids at Christmas time. She had a big bag of cookie cutters (which she passed on to me just as it was passed on to her).  Some were metal and some plastic, and they represented all different holidays.  We were allowed to use whatever cutters we wanted – I usually tried them all!

I couldn’t wait to tie on my pint-sized apron with coloured polka dots and red rick-rack trim. I’m not sure why I bothered – I was always covered in flour by the end anyway!

We had to wait for Mom to roll out the dough and it seemed to take forever. Finally, it was our turn to press those shapes in the dough (close together as Mom harped coached) to see Santa and the Easter bunny come alive!

dsc_0476-800x533

Mom always left the light on in the oven, and my brother and I would crouch down in front of the door, waiting for them to turn a golden brown, our mouths watering as their aroma filled the kitchen. Finally, we stood impatiently next to Mom while she blew on 2 cookies to cool them, cookies just for us…Mmm…so. good.

“Today I will live in the moment, unless it is unpleasant, in which case I will eat a cookie! – Cookie Monster

dsc_0480-800x533

To see more Anticipation, click here.

