This weekend, Little Guy passed another “rite of passage” – he got the see the original Star Wars!

There was a lot of discussion between Hubby & I leading up to this momentous moment. At what age can we let him see it? Is he mature enough to handle it? We were painfully aware that most of his friends had seen it years ago, probably before their 2nd birthday, but that wasn’t a good enough reason to give in. Most of his friends are into stuff that I’m not mature enough to handle and frankly, you only get to be a kid once! If you get to do it all now, what is there to look forward to as an adult?

But he is growing up, so this weekend we casually asked him if he’d like to watch it with supper. I’m not sure which I enjoyed watching more – the movie or his saucer-like eyes through the whole thing!

Star Wars was the highest grossing movie upon its release in 1977 (it heldthe record until E.T. came out in 1983). I was 4! The first time I saw it, it was on T.V., just weeks before The Empire Strikes Back debuted. I was 7! At the time, my best friends at school were Nicholas, Geoff and Kevin – guess what we played every recess? I was just like Princess Leia – a girl, in a dress, fighting alongside the boys!

I admit some of the cantina creatures freaked me out, and I avoided looking at the Sand People on the poster on my brother’s bedroom door, but otherwise, I was a fan! This movie had everything! It had action, comedy, drama and romance…spaceships, cool weapons, and a worthy cause. There was a damsel in distress, a young man trying to make his mark in the world, a handsome rogue, friends who stuck closer than brothers, super evil bad guys, and a robotic duo for comic relief. I’ve written before that this damsel in distress quickly became one of my top 3 princess  because she didn’t just cower in the sidelines; sometimes she did the rescuing – and she always stayed clothed doing it! Something a parent appreciates. Watching this again, I also appreciated some of the themes of the movie:

  • Good triumphs over evil
  • Friends stick together
  • Never lose hope

George Lucas’ mission was never to sell merchandise (which seems to be the obvious goal of most kids programming these days), but to make a film like the ones he grew up watching. He wanted to transport the audience to a new world, and to tell them a good story. And in Little Guy’s words, “I’ve been waiting forever to see it, and it was SO good! When can we watch it again?”

Mr. Lucas, mission accomplished!

Epilogue

After we tucked Little Guy in that night, Hubby and I turned to the dark side by whipping up an oreo chocolate pie. It only took me 3 tries to find the right sized pie plate. There was only one “light saber” battle to see who got to lick the beaters when we were done!

