Tags

, , , ,


One man’s overlooked blessing is another man’s treasure.

Friday night, I was frustrated, exhausted and late. My car was filled with boxes and bins; my legs were sore from multiple trips up and down the stairs. Two minutes after leaving home, I hit a in a traffic jam. A bus had broken down 5 car lengths from where a lane ended. I growled as we crawled along, particularly at the red Toyota ahead of me. When the 12th car cut the line, I wailed, but when I quit wailing, the toy ambulance in the backseat was still wailing. And it wailed every time I turned a corner or hit a bump…for a total of 14 times on what should have been a 20 minute car ride. ‘Twas the night before the annual yard sale at the church to raise money for our ministry to the homeless.

By the time I arrived, busy volunteers were shiny with sweat. The entire basement was filled with books, trinkets and furniture from eras gone by, mostly eras that involved a lot of brown and orange floral prints. I made my multiple trips down the stairs to set up my own table of crap treasures in the gym, as well as the 4 dozen cookies I baked for a bake table. Yes, with my track record of burnt offerings, I baked…after work…two nights in a row. Talk about exercising faith!

I went home and spent time on my knees – blending ingredients for gluten free chocolate cupcakes for Big Guy’s friend. This is how much I love my son!

“Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.” Oscar Wilde

We woke to a beautiful sunny and muggy day. People were questioning the decision of the organizers to hold the sale inside. But the organizers became smug “prophets” in the afternoon, declaring in a loud voice, “It’s starting to rain. If the windows in your cars are open, you’re going to get wet”! No sooner had he delivered his message, than the heavens opened; torrential rains and furious winds swept over the earth. We lost all visibility out the gym windows…and thus, I remembered that I was parked at the back of the lot and my windows were indeed cracked open.

Hot pink HeelsOverall, it was a good day. I met some neighbours and chatted with friends. I made $44 (before expenses and purchases) and I went home without the wailing toy ambulance. It’s now living with our youth pastor’s son – may it bless their household for many years to come! This vendor purchased a new bracelet, a frivolous summer vacation read, and some hot footwear! I’m happy to report that all the cookies were sold and no one complained on Sunday morning that this baker had tried to “poison” them. My car was dry this morning and the boxes of unsold crap treasures are piled in the hall. Best of all, we raised over $1,000, which will be used to feed and clothe a number of people this year, in Jesus’ name. That is a greater treasure.

