Tags

, , ,


Popular culture is drowning in princesses. It’s obvious in film, with Disney being the ultimate Princess movie factory. Growing up, I had a love affair with all the big ones – Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella. There were 3 other “princesses” with strong characters in the 70’s and 80’s to warp my self-esteem develop a strong character in me.

Before there was Mulan, there was Princess Diana of Themyscira, a.k.a. Wonder Woman. She first appeared in DC Comics in 1941. She is a warrior princess of the Amazon, who went by the name of Diana Prince on Earth. I watched her nearly every Saturday afternoon at 4 o’clock.  Wonder Woman had superior combat and battle skills, as well as the Lasso of Truth, her indestructible gold bracelets, and a tiara. She also possessed curves and didn’t try to hide them. Her vehicle of choice was an invisible jet. I’ll take a jet over a white horse any day!

Before there were Power Rangers, there were these guys:

G-Force_-_group_shot2

Photo courtesy of http://en.wikipedia.org

G-Force: Guardians of Space was an adaptation of a Japanese anime series (Science Ninja Team Gatchaman – 1972) which aired in 1986.  The team was a group of 5 teenagers trying to defend Earth against the evil aliens Galactor and Computor, along with their armies of androids and giant monster machines. Princess was my favourite character. She was a team player. She wore pink. She rode a motorcycle. And check out those boots again! Oh, yeah…she could also defend the Earth, and not by flippin’ her hair, batting her eyelashes, or being “charming”!

And finally, before there was Daenerys Targaryen (Game of Thrones), Princess Leia was fighting to protect her home planet and regain her empire. She was a diplomatic and determined leader both in the board room and on the battlefield. She wasn’t afraid to fight on the frontlines alongside the rebels. And while she was pretty, she was also focused and passionate; she didn’t let anything (or anyone-wink wink) distract her from her goals.

I made this last night...because every little girl should have a Princess Leia Paper Doll!

I made this last night…because every little girl should have a Princess Leia Paper Doll!

To be honest, I enjoyed playing with my Barbies, but I also enjoyed running around the school yard with the boys. And to get to do it and be a princess was a win-win! I didn’t really want to be a delicate “flower” waiting in a tower for “my prince to come”. I wanted to be fighting alongside him for the greater good of humanity!

I still do!

To get your pattern for your own Princess Leia Paper Doll, click here.  Have a Happy Weekend!

