She caught me off-guard. Long after she had left the office, her words stayed with me. They made me uncomfortable and forced me to reflect on my actions over the past year. Honestly, I was confused. My behaviour was so natural, so ingrained  through my upbringing, that I really didn’t think about it.

She had taken time in her busy day, to come into the office to thank me for being “kind” to someone (which was kind)! I had no idea. I said “hello” when we met. Sometimes we chatted for a few brief minutes during the day. On a special occasion, I sent a card with a note expressing my appreciation for his hard work. It was no big deal…but on the day he popped in to say “hi”, he talked about it to her. He told her about the card and the note inside. He had been impacted even through our mindless “everyday” interactions.

“Kindness ought to be so natural a component
we don’t even recognize its presence – just its absence.” – CoachDaddy

Weren’t we all taught in Kindergarten to “play nice”? To be thoughtful, gentle, considerate, and polite? To “do unto others as you would have them do unto you”?

Once again, I was reminded that we may never know what’s happening in the lives of those around us. We don’t know about their dreams, their private struggles, the places they’ve been, or the places they are going. But we can greet someone with a smile on our lips. We can hold the door for someone, or say “thanks” to the person who holds it for us. We can offer a little encouragement. We can offer a little time to listen. We can show a little kindness

I can’t imagine behaving any differently.

“You cannot do a kindness too soon,
for you never know how soon it will be too late.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

