Tags

, , ,


As soon as you close the bathroom door, someone needs your attention. It’s as inevitable as your toast landing butter-side down or stepping on the only pile of doggie-doo in a 5 mile radius. If you’re a parent, it’s your kids. If you’re married, it’s your spouse. And if you’re at work…?

I work in a church office. You’d think that the bathroom would be a safe (and sacred) place. But not always.

It has only happened once and it was a few months ago, but the memory has lingered…There I was, securely settled for a few moments of peace and quiet, (with my pants around my ankles), when I heard a male voice calling my name.

“Jenn?”

I froze, hardly daring even to breathe. While I was safely tucked into the cubicle, the main door to the bathroom was open and the light was on…but the light in the hallway was off. If he came around the corner, he would know where I was… and what I was doing…

And then he called again, but his voice was louder. What do I do? Do I respond or do I stand on the seat and hope he doesn’t check under the door (like I did in Grade 7 when I didn’t want to go outside for recess)?

I only had seconds to decide. I could hear footsteps coming down the hallway. So I yelled back, “Just a minute” and scrambled to put myself back together. Then I flushed…By then, who was I kidding? He knew where I was the minute he turned the corner and yelled a second time. I exited the room with as much grace as I could muster, and with a sweet smile on my face (hiding my horror and humiliation) asked him, “What can I do for you?” He was just letting me know he was stepping out for a few minutes to get something to eat… (that all-important message couldn’t wait another 30 seconds?)

I know that while it was explained to me that working in a church can sometimes mean I’m treated more as “family” than an “employee”, this just felt a little too much like family! J

Imagine my surprise when, Friday morning, as I settled in (with the room and stall doors firmly closed), when in walked 2 work men, oblivious to the fact that I was there. This time I embarrassed them! They apologized profusely, so with a toss of my head, as I left the room, I told them not to worry – we’re like a family here!

