Tags

,


“When the red red robin comes bob bob bobbin’ along along
There’ll be no more sobbin’ when he starts throbbin’ his old sweet song” – Dean Martin

When Big Guy was in Junior Kindergarten, he learned the song “When the Red, Red Robin”. Walking home from school, we would hold hands and skip, singing it at the top of our lungs.

I watched a fat red-breasted robin skipping merrily across the yard today, until he reached the edge of the snow. And then he stopped and stared at it for a long time. A very long time. I was beginning to wonder if he was contemplating suicide. If he stayed there long enough, it could look like an accident. We have at least 2 cats that wander in our neighbourhood…

A few weeks ago, the geese started to return. And then they started to fly south. And then they flew north. The one day we had a mini snowstorm, they just hunkered down in the field next to work and grumbled under their breath. But the flocks are getting bigger – I saw hundreds in the sky last week in at least a dozen different “v” formations…and they were headed east…Bad move, geese! Some Eastern Canadian provinces are still digging out their cars…literally. They are buried in drifts that could easily bury me!

Photo courtesy of The Guardian, P.E.I. 2015

The snow has mostly melted where I live, but with temperatures dipping back in the minuses (celsius, that is), there are no mud puddles. My new red plaid rubber boots are poised by the door!  I’ve already inspected my flower beds but there’s nothing to report but frozen leaves and dirt.

“Wake up wake up you sleepy head get up, get up get out of bed
Cheer up cheer up the sun is red, live, love, laugh, and be happy!”

 And that’s what I’m planning to do…live, love, laugh and be happy! There are signs of spring (even if we can’t put away our snow shovels or pitch our mittens just yet). But if it truly starts to snow again, I am not making any promises!

Happy Tuesday!

