Tags

, , ,


I didn’t make it to the store, Bed, Bath & Beyond, but I made a valiant effort. I nearly put myself in traction scrubbing down the tub and tiles on Saturday in an outlandish burst of energy. As I scoured, I let my thoughts wind down the garden path to what my bathroom would look like were we to be blessed with the money to do it. For example, the sea foam green bathtub from 1959 would be replaced with white, and the salmon and sea foam green tiles would be replaced with white or gray, or aqua subway tiles… But since we aren’t blessed right now, I decided that perhaps it was time to invest in a new shower curtain. We have had the current “fish” curtain for over 15 years.

Hence the trip to Bed, Bath & Beyond…or the attempted trip.

As I turned the corner on the green light, having successfully resisted the urge to beep my horn at the person snoozing in front of me, my car made a horrible sound like the clutch slipping out of gear, followed by a futile attempt to accelerate, much to the annoyance of the person behind me…I made it to the dealership and they were able to take my car in right away. They were also able to set me up with a rental car in the interim. O happy day!

It wasn’t until later in the afternoon, with the smell of chicken roasting in the oven and as I was stirring 3 mugs of hot chocolate (with marshmallows – you have to have marshmallows), that I caught myself smiling. My car had broken down, but I was able to limp to the dealership, borrow a car, and return it for my own by 5 p.m. Big Guy has been staying with us for nearly a month for work, and we have enjoyed a windfall of laughter and games together. At that very moment, the boys were brushing off snowballs from their clothing on the front porch after constructing a snow fort in the front yard.

I didn’t make it to the store, Bed, Bath & Beyond, despite my best intentions. But yesteday I received many other “bed, bath & beyond” blessings…and hot chocolate…and marshmallows.

Hot Chocolate

(Bonus: My bathroom is still ugly but it is also sparkling clean!) 😉

