Tags

, ,


“You’ll have to excuse me, I’m not at my best
I’ve been gone for a week…I need home for a rest”

Spirit Of The West,  Home For A Rest

Well, here we are again…another new year. We ate too much and stayed up too late trying to pack in as much time together. Why waste time sleeping? But between the packing and eating, the road trips and sleepless nights, the Christmas celebrations and the funeral activities, I’m back in the city – home for a rest!

Big Guy, Little Guy and I headed back to the city Sunday morning, but we didn’t have an auspicious start. It snowed on Saturday and froze overnight. After we slid our way to the cars and chiselled our way into them, we found out Big Guy’s car didn’t start. To make matters worse, my Mom’s car was blocking mine and she couldn’t get it out of the driveway. We chopped, dug, shovelled and pushed with no luck! It was only after my Dad got home, that we were set free!

I loaded the car in the rain, my boots soaked after tromping through puddles as the ice melted. I borrowed a pair of Big Guy’s socks…they kept sliding down…even sitting still in the car.

I noticed it right away…the road sign that was lit up to tell me “fog possible”, amazing considering I was driving through “pea soup” fog. The fog cleared just in time for a strong wind to batter the cars. I was entertained by the guy in front of me, who couldn’t drive his car between the lines before the winds picked up. By the time we hit the city limits, the sun was shining and the roads were bare.

Nearly everything is put away now. We have food in the house again and clean clothes to wear. And I’m sticking to my New Year’s resolution – to not make New Year’s resolutions. Time for a rest…or to get ready for work…

