Tags

, , , , , ,


A silhouette, is the outline of someone or something against a lighter background. Their contrasting forms or shadows can create dramatic pictures.

I think some of the most beautiful silhouette photographs I’ve seen have been taken on a beach at sunset…but I don’t live near a beach. Or a lake. Or water of any kind unless you count the water in my wheelbarrow, the rusty one with the flat tire… And then one overcast day, as I was getting in the car, I saw this little fellow taking a moment to just enjoy the view.

Bird Silhouette

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –

 And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

– Emily Dickinson

To see more Silhouette photos, click here.

