Tags

, ,


There are several tell-tale signs of an imminent meltdown. One would be wise to become well-acquainted with them before getting seriously involved with someone and/or having children! They can include one or more of the following: a hot, red face, tight lips, weepy eyes, clenched fists, over-sensitivity to the little things, and an overall “bad” attitude.

Sometimes you just need a hug.

A few weeks ago, I had to make a trip to pick up a few items at the grocery store after I picked Little Guy up from school. But through the whole 10 minute drive in the car, Little Guy was a black rain cloud. He grumbled and complained, and questioned why we had to go now because he wanted to go home. By the time we parked in the lot, I had a cloud hanging over my head too. I got out of the car and calmly snapped that he could choose to be pleasant or unpleasant, but we were still going inside.

He got out the car reluctantly and as I came around to his side, I noticed the red face and the weepy eyes and I knew…sometimes you just need a hug. As I put my arms around this child with an unlovely attitude, he buried his face in my chest and took a deep breath. And we just stood there while some women hustled by us, looking in our direction, confused. I didn’t care. It turns out he’d had a “mean” supply teacher that day, he had tripped over a big rock and hurt his knee, and “some other stuff” that he couldn’t remember. I thought he was anxious to get home to play on the Xbox, but instead he just wanted the safety and security of “home”.

I understand. When life starts to bustle and the deadlines and “to-do” list starts to pile up, and when everything seems to go wrong and I’m just plain weary, I crave the peace and comfort of home too. Michael Card said it best: “Home is a comfort and home is a light, a place to leave the darkness outside. Home is a peaceful and ever full feeling, a place where the soul safely hides.”**

I enlisted Little Guy’s help in choosing some of the items I needed to pick up after we took time to admire the cake and dessert cases! We also picked up a cookie kit with icing and sprinkles. After we got home, Little Guy thanked me for turning a bad day into a great day.

Sometimes you just need a hug!

**Home by Michael Card © 1981 Mole End Music (Admin. by Word Music Group, Inc.) Administered by Word Music Group, Inc.
