Tags

, ,


I got the call on Thursday. My heart sank to my toes; my brain spun out of control. Panic set in.

I shouldn’t have been surprised. I knew there was a possibility that our speaker for the ladies’ ministry on Wednesday wouldn’t be able to speak and I would be filling in for her. Over the last 5 weeks, I read the book. I prayed. I perused a few chapters looking for inspiration…more than once. I had a loose mental “plan” and I was good with that…And then I did what I seem to excel at these days – I procrastinated a little too long.

I’ve spoken at Morning Break a dozen times (this will be lucky #13). I volunteered the first time (and I have no idea what I was thinking because speaking in public is only slightly less terrifying than being trapped in an elevator!) Every time, I wrestle with the material, with what to say, with what to wear (particularly the time I dressed in a superhero costume…) And every time, I receive positive feedback.

About a year ago, I took some time to try to figure out what I feared…I discovered it had less to do with how I looked or what I said, and more to do with how I am living…

I Don’t Want to Be a Cliché
1) Am I standing up or standing out too far?
Should I get a Jesus fish for my car?
Is my posture of prayer on my face and my knees
Or do I say “look at me” like a Pharisee?
I don’t want to be a cliché.

2) When I speak of You, Jesus,
Is it genuine or forced?
Have I ever really been running Your course?
Am I living Your Word every day,
Or is it just a big book that I carry on Sunday?
I don’t want to be a cliché.

Chorus: I don’t want to be a cliché.
I don’t want to stand in the way.
I want to share Your salvation and grace.
I want to see You face to face.
I don’t want to be a cliché.

3) Do I speak “Christianese” like the back of my hand?
When push comes to shove, for You will I stand?
Is my reflection of Jesus somehow twisted or marred?
Will “me” interfere and the way be barred?
I don’t want to be a cliché.

4) Do I worry too much about my humility?
I know I worry about my ability?
I want more of You showing and less of me.
It would seem they aren’t the only ones who need to be free.
I don’t want to be a cliché.

Chorus: I don’t want to be a cliché.
I don’t want to stand in the way.
I want to share Your salvation and grace.
I want to see You face to face.
I don’t want to be a cliché.

Let me truly serve You alone
Until You call me home
Take all of “me” away
And let Your presence remain.

