Tags

, ,


At this time of year, there aren’t many interesting streets or events in town. The snowbanks have mostly melted, leaving behind piles of mud and rock. The trees are still bare and the gardens have yet to begin to grow. Skeletons of broken limbs and garbage litter yards, damage from December’s ice storm.

My own street is very quiet. During the day, only the “usual suspects” are out – a few seniors who walk their dogs (there used to be a senior who walked her pig. The pig’s name was Kevin. Think about that…).

So instead, I visited a relatively new neighbourhood built around a church. This street is unfinished at the moment – there are no sidewalks or even people. But one day, maybe even this Summer, I hope to see this street filled with couples holding hands and window shopping.

“No longer forward nor behind I look in hope or fear; But, grateful, take the good I find, The best of now and here.” - John Greenleaf Whittier

“No longer forward nor behind
I look in hope or fear;
But, grateful, take the good I find,
The best of now and here.” – John Greenleaf Whittier

***

For this challenge, document the movement (or stillness) of a street: tell a story with your snapshot, capture a scene that reveals a bit about a place, or simply show us where you live — or a path you often take. To see more Snapshot Stories, click here.

