Tags

, , ,


My name is Jennifer, but I go by Jenn. It means “Gentle Spirit” or “Fair Lady”. Hubby will tell you that I am no lady… I have 2 middle names, and when I was born, my Grandpa complained that I had an awfully long name for such a little girl. I’m only 5′ 1- 1/2″ (the half inch is very important) so I’m not sure I grew into it.

These days I’m in desperate need of a good laugh… the snowstorms, the ice storms, and the blasts of arctic temperatures have slowly been sucking me into a big black hole. If Spring doesn’t come soon, I’m worried that I will never find the way out. So I went to urbandictionary.com and typed in my name. Some of the descriptions were so ridiculous, I laughed out loud (in a “mad scientist” kind of way) while other descriptions were, in my humble opinion, spot on! Most people call me “Jenn” or “Jennifer” – never “Jenny”, “Jennie”, “Jenna”, “Jeffiner”, “Jenni-kins”, or “Jenni-poo” – not if they want to live! I found solid reasoning from someone else, as to why I’ve shortened my name:

“As the world is so overpopulated with Jennifers, we need to be able to distinguish the cool from the evil. The only acceptable abbreviation for the cool Jennifers is Jenn. Jenny, Jen, Nifer and any other variations of Jennifer are hereby deemed stupid and will no longer be tolerated! Anyone still answering to any other variation will be recognised as evil and or a loser!”

So there!

I took exception to some:

“Typically a chubby to large framed, trashy … woman who gets taken advantage of…” “A weirdo who usually has no life. People with this name tend to flunk math and have large rear ends. This girl also has no life; she is lame” “Usually the hottest girl in the class. Laughs 24/7 and smiles no matter what’s going on.”

Oh wait, some of those things are true…like the math thing and the weirdo with no life…Hmm… And I was NEVER the hottest girl in class…sinking into a black hole…

On to the Better definitions:

“Highly intelligent, attractive, and creative, witty, and usually sarcastic”

Who, me??

“Compassionate & very loyal once you win her over. Warning: she will hold her own and do what’s necessary if you prove incapable of being a healthy asset to her life…You’d be … lucky to find a place in her heart.” “The most amazing girl in the world, the yin to your yang, often under-appreciated, but as precious as a diamond. Be the one to have her fall in love with you and you’ll be the luckiest man in the world.”

I wonder if Hubby agrees? Better not to ask…

“Fun, outgoing, insanely smart, insightful, inwardly and outwardly beautiful. Able to have an intelligent conversation while also appreciating the importance of a fun night on the town, a sexy dress and a hot pair of shoes. Values love, respect, truth and justice.”

Ah….that is better! They had me at “hot pair of shoes”, and even though it’s freezing rain outside, I feel so much better. What’s in your name? Aren’t you a teensy bit curious?

www.urbandictionary.com

To see more Weekly Writing Challenges, click here.

