Tags

, , , ,


Family Photos

I treasure my heritage…

I never met everyone in these photos, and I only know pieces of their stories. Most of them were simple farmers with deep faith, and a strong sense of family. They built churches and worked on railroads. They came to escape famine and persecution, with hopes for a better life for their children. They came from Ireland, Scotland, Germany, England, France…

Patrick (Protestant) and his wife Bridget (Catholic) left Ireland in 1837 with their 10 children…

Michael was a United Empire Loyalist who left the United States in 1773…

7 brothers and 2 sisters left Germany to escape the growing military movement. They settled together and built a log building to serve as their church…

I have pages of records – births, deaths, marriages, children, professions, and small details about lives that are so different from my own. And I trust that as I live each day, I am adding my story to their stories…

“Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.” – Oscar Wilde

To see more Treasures and read their stories, click here.

