Tags

, , , , , , ,


If I had a choice, I would have spent every day this week hibernating under a thick blanket in my flannel jammies. On Sunday, it was snowing and blowing…and then the ominous “arctic vortex” swept in again and it has been frighteningly frigid. Hubby’s car wouldn’t start on Tuesday and we had to have it towed. The roads are icy and the chocolate cupboard is getting bare…so I haven’t gone anywhere with my camera or my sassy green boots! Instead I started working on some of the photo prompts for next week, and I pulled together a few photos from recent years that (hopefully) pass inspection!

I’m confident that when it gets warmer, I will get out more!

January 14: Yummy!

When I saw the challenge “yummy” my mind immediately raced to desserts! I’m a big fan of sweets, especially when chocolate is involved (not to mention what a great excuse to have to buy something sweet with chocolate to photograph…but then I’d eat it and blow my “diet”). So I opted in favour of my other favourite food group: grease. I can happily report, however, that this was not what I ordered! Someone else in my family did – and he savoured it for me!

burger with bacon

January 15: In the Air

Little did I know that when I was snapping photos at the school playground after the huge ice storm, that this snapshot of an airplane would come in handy! It’s harder to see in the size I’ve posted here…but it is in the air!

December 23, 2013

December 23, 2013

January 17: Knobby

Knobby knees or knobby trees? I saw plenty of beautiful and colourful trees on a nature walk in our family’s woodlot – Thanksgiving 2012. But this gnarly, old soul really took my eye. What he lacked in foliage, he made up for in character, just like an Ent, an ancient shepherd of the forest.

weird tree3Every crag and gnarled tree and lonely valley has its own strange and graceful legend attached to it.
– Douglas Hyde

January 18: Pose

That same Thanksgiving (2012), before we headed to the woodlot, we went to the Boardwalk along the river. The river was so low that we could walk on the riverbed at the base of the waterfall. My father had just passed on his motorcycle jacket to Big Guy – the same motorcycle jacket that I proudly wore one Halloween with a poodle skirt. I carefully cut out cardboard letters – “Leader of the Pack” – and taped them on the back. I took several “posed” pictures of my kids sitting on the tree trunk that had conveniently washed downstream earlier in the year.

Sitting on a log

What a handsome pair!

January 19: Abandoned

On that same nature walk, we came across an old wagon quietly rusting under the trees.

wagon in the woods

A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road.” – Henry Ward Beecher

For my first installment of Capture Your 365, click here.

