Tags

, , , ,


Frosty the Snowman (or Mister Frosty to you) is evil…or so Big Guy believes.

Frosty joined our family a few years ago following a fantastic Boxing Day sale, and he usually gets a prominent place in our living room over the holiday season. Although he spends the majority of the year hanging out on the shelf under the basement stairs, he still makes his presence known. Maybe that’s why Big Guy thinks he’s evil…

Normally, I am not a fan of toys that make noise, but this spirited little jack-in-the-box at least requires physical labour to turn the crank, instead of pushing a battery-operated button (gotta’ burn off all the cookie calories I can). He plays a plucky rendition of Jingle Bells and at just the right moment, pops out of his box with a merry message in a deep voice: “Ho! Ho! Ho! Merry Christmas!” There’s nothing evil about that, right? Except…

Except that Frosty sometimes wishes us a Merry Christmas when no one is anywhere near him. The first time was at 5:00 a.m. in a dark room. I had just tiptoed downstairs to leave Big Guy a reminder note in his cereal bowl. The kitchen light was on but I was writing my note at the dining room table and Frosty wished me a Merry Christmas. I’ll admit, it was a little creepy, but I wished him a Merry Christmas, delivered my note and went back to bed.

Frosty has spoken many times since but Big Guy’s experience has been the most memorable…When Big Guy moved out, I offered Frosty to him, and to my surprise, he took him. Big Guy’s bedroom used to be in the basement and frequently Frosty would wish him a Merry Christmas as Big Guy walked by him to brush his teeth. It usually “freaked him out”.

Frosty wore out his welcome within a few weeks. Frosty’s “new home” was on a shelf in the passageway to the bathroom. One night, Big Guy made a trip to bathroom in the dark and Frosty, true to form, wished him a Merry Christmas (wish I had been there!) Big Guy was so spooked, that Frosty was returned to me.

From time to time, I threaten to plant Frosty in Big Guy’s room at home…and sometimes I carry through with the threat…

Mwa ha ha!

Mr Frosty

Happy Weekend!

