Tags

, ,


‘Tis the season! ‘Tis the season to mute the pumped-up toy ads (and generally inane ads that make parents and men look stupid) on TV, to avoid all the schmaltzy holiday movies (I only want that much syrup on my pancakes), and to play cds in order to miss horrendous “rock ‘n roll” seasonal tunes oozing out of every station, every store, every cesspool in the modern world.

I was rather disappointed when I found out what was listed as the most annoying Christmas song of 2013 – because it’s one that brings back memories of my mother laughing at my brother belting it from the backseat of our 1970’s brown barge. Come to think of it, there quite a few on the list that bring back memories of things like plaid pants and brown polyester suits (shudder)…

Whether you love them or hate them (unlike Hostess’ orange, grape or cherry flavoured potato chips), these songs are here to stay. The top 10 most annoying Christmas songs for 2013 on Huffington Posts’ list are:

10)       Christmas Shoes

9)         Walking in a Winter Wonderland (Dean Martin)

8)         The 12 Days of Christmas (Bing Crosby & the Andrew Sisters)

7)         Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree (Brenda Lee

6)         Little Drummer Boy (Harry Simeone Chorale)

5)         Feliz Navidad (Jose Feliciano)

4)         Jingle Bells (Frank Sinatra)

3)         Jingle Bell Rock (Bobby Helms)

2)         Santa Baby by (Eartha Kitt)

And No. 1 (drumroll please):  Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer (Elmo & Patsy). Personally, I’m shocked that Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You” isn’t on that list somewhere…

If you don’t like that list – there are others. Go look for them while you swill some egg not or dissect a few Turtles…

MMmm…I LOVE Turtles…

You’ll notice I didn’t attach any song clips – you’re welcome! Happy Weekend!

***

 Tell me – what’s on your “Hit Me (and knock me out of my misery” List??

 

