Tags

, , ,


What is it about Fair fare that tastes so delicious? Is it the combination of smells: grease, sugar, straw, and body odour? Or is the ambiance: carnies yelling over loud music, people screaming on the rides, or the brightly painted food vendor stalls? Is it eating food off a stick while standing in a corner and scraping horse manure and straw off your boots? There’s something magical about Fair fare!

I didn’t make it to the Fair this year…I made a lovely roast beef dinner Friday night. I fixed my plate, popped my horse pill and got it firmly lodged in my throat. I spent a terrifying (and rather painful) 5 minutes trying to get it dislodged – any liquid I swallowed came out faster than it went in. Every time I tried to manually push the pill up my gullet, my body dry-heaved violently from my toes (my shoulders are still sore). Crying didn’t help either, but it was worth a shot! Eventually, I got it down, but have nursed a sore throat all weekend.

Hubby and Little Guy made it to the Fair and had a wonderful time looking at machinery and animals, riding some rides, bouncing on the back of a monster truck, and eating… Hubby even accosted asked people if he could take pictures of their food for me, since I couldn’t be there. He only had one woman ask if I would be upset if he took pictures of strange women…um…no… So grab a tissue, and let some drooling begin!

There were the meat/poultry groups:

Chicken Delights

Chicken Delights

 

 

* Chicken & Chips

* Chicken Tenders

* Chicken on a Stick; and

Chicken Wings, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Cheese Dogs, and Back Bacon on a Bun

Chicken Wings, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Cheese Dogs, Natchos, Fries, and Back Bacon on a Bun

Veggies:

Fresh Cut Fries

Fresh Cut Fries

* Roasted Yams

* Poutine with Cheese Curds

Sweet Roasted Corn on the Cob

Sweet Roasted Corn on the Cob

Deep Fried Onions

Deep Fried Onions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sweets:

* Tiny Tom Donuts

Deep Fried Mars Bar

Deep Fried Mars Bars

Deep Fried Mars Bar

Deep Fried Mars Bars 

Candy Factory

Candy Factory

 

 

– and the best part –

 

 

 

 

 

Supreme Funnel Cake

Supreme Funnel Cake

This little funnel cake made its way home to me! Thanks Hubby, for thinking of me – enticing photos and delectable dessert! Oh my!

What’s your favourite Fair fare?

 

