Tags


Louie Armstrong was singing, “And I think to myself, what a wonderful world” on the radio, and I all I wanted to do was scream “SHUT UP!” Doesn’t he know it’s Monday and it’s raining? I have a ghastly headache and I have to get groceries in this, somewhere. My usual store has closed and I have to drive through at least one construction zone to get to the other 3 nearby, where I won’t be able to find the things on my list.

Then…then there’s the big sign outside the school that we just drove past, telling me that C. Avenue will be closed from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on October 2 (ironically, I had just mentioned to someone that at least I could get to the school without construction…) October 2 is a Wednesday! Wednesday mornings are wicked and wild! That’s the day that, in addition to getting Little Guy to school on time, I have to dress up and load 5 boxes of food and craft supplies from the house to the car, and from the car to the church (repeat in reverse order at noon). I drop Little Guy at school and leave him under the supervision of another Mom so I can head to the church (through a few more construction zones) just so I can almost arrive on time…

But Ol’ Louie has a point! At least I have a church where I can go and freely worship. I have a school where boys and girls can attend without intimidation. My kid is healthy and doesn’t melt in the rain (unlike so many of his peers that have to be dropped at the door, blocking all movement in parking lot…but I digress…) And after that first trip of the day, I have a warm house and a hot pot of tea waiting for me at home.

As I sat in the car with my unruly hair and my damp clothes (never mind the fact that my shirt waistband is now hugging my ribcage uncomfortably because I have too much to eat), I said a prayer of thanksgiving for all of these blessings. I prayed for those who live without our most basic needs, and I prayed for those who are willing live and work to make a difference in even one life…

Then the Wombats started singing” Let’s dance to the joy division, and celebrate the irony, Everything is going wrong, But we’re so happy”. So I guess –

Gain perspective. Be thankful. Dance. Be Happy. It’s a wonderful world, even on a rainy Monday morning…

