Tags

, , ,


Sometimes I feel like a bad parent. It relates to that half hour before “lights out” for Little Guy in the evening. It’s like that final stretch at the end of a race…somewhere between excitement because you can see the finish line…and struggling to endure because you can see the finish line. Some nights it’s a “grin and bear it” half hour. Not all nights, but enough that once in awhile, I want a “night off” – and it seems, the only way I’m going to get it is to go “out”!

It’s not a difficult “get ready for bed” routine. It starts with the mantra: pee, change or brush. Next, I read to Little Guy; sometimes he reads to me. Then prayer time, one-on-one talking time, lights off/cd on, and I’m blowing kisses on my way out the door.

I think the issue lately is that we’ve been reading Captain Underpants books (with voices) every night for close to a year. The author, Dav Pilkey, has written 10 books (so far). I’d like to read about someone who isn’t fighting for “truth, justice and all that is pre-shrunk and cottony”. To read a book where the protagonists aren’t two 4th Grade geniuses who hypnotized their mean principal, Mr. Krupp, so that whenever any snaps their fingers, he becomes Captain Underpants? Don’t get me wrong – there are cool inventions like the Goosy-Grow 4000 or the Purple Potty time machine…and some of the villains are pretty creative: Wicked Wedgie Woman, Booger Boy (with enough description to turn your stomach), the Turbo Toilet 2000, or Professor Poopypants (who changes his name to Tippy Tinkletrousers)! One of the alien Cafeteria ladies (who turned the school into zombie nerds) was even named Jennifer! But it’s time for a change…for someone with fur or clothes. I’m really not picky!

So I confess, this week, I volunteered to register Little Guy at his Wednesday night activity. Now, I also wanted to go because I needed to look for some papers while I was in the church, honestly. I forgot to look for the papers…and since I didn’t want to get home too early, I walked around the grocery store (we needed mayonnaise) and then I sat in the driveway listening to the radio, heading in just in time for kisses! The break was good…but I did feel guilty. I don’t know…maybe I just need to drink some Extra Strength Super Power Juice first.

