Tags

, , ,


Well, “Ignorance was bliss”.

The Pre-Trial

I slept in Saturday morning, justifying it as saving my energy for the Trial Run later in the day. Then I did very little…until Hubby, Big Guy and I started talking about the Mud Hero Run, and Hubby found out I didn’t know what I had signed up for…and he “insisted” (with Little Guy’s help) on reading out every obstacle to me. I could feel the colour draining from my face and felt my bowels turning to water. Next, even though I was nauseous, came a period of intense stress eating: Cheddar goldfish crackers (full of gluten and dairy). I did a lot of stress eating. And as I packed my bag and headed off for the trial, I took that giant bag of crackers and “snacked” for the half hour drive.

My first impression of the obstacle course was positive. I tied up my runners and shared self-deprecating remarks with complete strangers until we were all gathered. Hubby was there, camera pointed to record my “humiliation”. Then our leader laid out “the plan”.

The Plan

Since we would be running a total of 6km during the Mud Hero Run, we would be running 6 km, in 3 blocks. She had also set up various obstacles and we would do those in between the runs. Here we go…

The Trial

Less than a third into the first run, having started at the back (knowing I’d probably be there for the duration), I passed a guy mowing his lawn, who suggested I run faster. I smiled politely and shook my head “no”. He kindly pointed out that “well, someone has to be in last place and you’re doing a great job of it”. Just what I need – a heckler! I was second last and stayed there until we stopped at the school. We were going to swing on the monkey bars. This was a great set to try out – I could touch the ground. Then we ran again…but this time I was in the middle of the pack…and I stayed there the whole time (even though I didn’t actually run the whole time). I was only a little humiliated when our youth pastor drove by, smiling and waving…

By the time we got back to the house, I was the same colour as my shirt. It felt pretty good to crawl through the wet grass as a sprinkler rained down us. Next, we hopped through the tires a couple of times before going for a stroll around the block carrying wooden beams. I was only a little humiliated by having an audience. Hubby and my pastor (his wife is our leader/trainer) cheered from their great view on the back porch.

Tires

Hop.

Then we ran…again…

This time we went in a different direction. Instead of a small gradual hill, we trailed up a long gradual hill. What’s the difference? It hurt a lot more! I stayed in the middle of the pack, staying ahead of Big Guy and his friend (I can endure more than a 23 year old? In fairness, Big Guy was wearing work boots. He didn’t listen to his Mama). A few more neighbourhood hecklers/confused on-lookers. I visited with another woman to try and distract myself from my burning thighs and screaming lungs. I made sure I was running once I could see the house – I know Hubby and his camera were waiting…

That's me in the pink shirt  - I look like I know what I'm doing...

That’s me in the pink shirt – I look like I know what I’m doing…

We weren’t done yet. Next, we had to climb a 10 ft. rope. Big Guy scaled that in less than 10 seconds. I barely made it off the ground, but in the video clip Hubby [kindly] recorded, I looked good doing not much of anything! We also had to flip a tractor tire over 5 times. I was the last to go – I got into my squat position, took a deep breath and lifted…the tire didn’t budge. Holy bat crap! That thing was heavy! I might have flipped it once under my own power. Apparently my 8 lb. weights are NOT enough! And finally, we dragged a tire around the yard. I got to sit on it for Big Guy’s turn, which was really fun! I survived the final run…and the bear crawl through the yard…

Drag.

Drag. (not me – Hubby was cooking and (finally) put the camera down!

Summation

I didn’t suck (at everything) and accomplished far more than I gave myself credit for. I’m convinced that my efforts to run and persevering with the weights, etc. made this Trial Run a little smoother. (OK, a lot!) And know that I’ve publicly humiliated myself, it will be easier to do so again.  Mountainstroh passed on some great advice Friday afternoon – it’s not about the speed, it’s about the finish! I’m feeling more confident that next Saturday, I can finish strong!

Or I will die trying…

