Tags

, , ,


To those who would criticize my decision, please understand that for me, this is not:

  • A crazy, mid-life crisis or hormonal thing. It may have started that way (I can’t afford the red convertible) but over time, as I’ve considered the pros and cons, the opinions of those who matter to me, etc., it has evolved into something more.
  • An act of rebellion. Defying gravity while attempting to walk gracefully in 4″ heels is rebellion. I passed the sullen, moody teenager stage a long (long) time ago, and even when I was there, my “rebellious days” didn’t provide any material for an after-school T.V. special (with the exception of having a baby at 16 – that wasn’t rebellion. That was insecurity)!
  • A hasty decision. I have thought long and hard not just about whether to get a tattoo, but where to get a tattoo and what it would be. This is permanent, unlike hair dye and jeggings, so I can’t do it on a whim. A whim would be “do you want fries with that?”
  • To be part of the “in” crowd. I listened to my mother when she asked me, “If everyone jumped off a bridge, would you jump off too?” but I have to say, I don’t have that many friends, and those I do have, have never suggested I jump off any bridges. Maybe I chose my friends wisely!
  • Just a decoration. It would be an identifying mark filled with meaning, an expression of who I am.

But figuring out who I am can take a lifetime. So instead I considered what I most value so I chose a cross because it is the identifying mark of a Christ follower. The cross was an instrument of torture and the greatest expression of love. John 15:13 says “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” And John 3:16: “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” The first verse I learned as a kid.

I also didn’t want a design that was pretty…I wanted a design that was as hard as…well, nails! I want it to be an outward display of my commitment.

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” Galatians 6:14

If you’re still interested, I’ll show it to you, tomorrow!

Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.
