Tags

, , , ,


Part of my mid-life crisis has involved contemplating what makes a person a leader. I have had a couple of people in positions of authority, and who I respect, hint that they see leadership potential in me. I don’t see it! That doesn’t mean it isn’t there, and I certainly don’t want to be my own obstacle in reaching and using what leadership skills may exist. I can be my own worst enemy.

A few months ago I received an email that said “you should go” with a link. The link was for a Lead Worship Conference with Paul Baloche (for those who don’t know who that is, he is a well-known Christian song writer and worship leader). It looked great, but I had some pretty lame excuses why I shouldn’t go…The next email came from someone higher up the food chain telling me “we want you to go and we’ll be paying for it”.

So Saturday morning, I woke at 6 a.m. to the sound of sleet hitting the windows. Lovely! I got dressed, curled my hair, put on my make-up, and was ready to go by 7:30. Long after our group arrived and registered, I felt like a poser – what was I doing here with all these talented people? But once the worship service started, I didn’t’ care any more. It was like being at a concert – light displays, cameras, and amazing sound. Cool factor: they were recording for a live album so my voice is in that crowd! And I got lost in the music…

While I learned a number of practical things, it was the affirmations, like the heart of a worship leader (so maybe their ideas aren’t so far off?). It wasn’t just in what they were teaching, but in how they demonstrated it– with humility and love for each person.

If I had to choose 3 key points, they would be:

1) The secret to being a worship leader is to be in the secret place. Our personal life reflects our commitment and our worship.

2) God calls us to occupy the place He has put us in and our worship will overflow into that place.

3) leading is a privilege because we are given the potential to bring about an explosion of God’s power in broken people’s lives.

I feel a little less like a poser, thought I still have many doubts about my abilities and my place. I’m curious to see just where it might be leading…

