Tags

, , , ,


William Shakespeare wrote, “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages”.

I have always wondered what it would be like to have a life on the stage, to be able to transform into characters that are polar opposites of my own personality. I regret not taking drama in high school, but it wasn’t part of my “plan” for getting into University to study history…before law school. Of course that plan blew apart when I got pregnant at the end of Grade 10! I took music instead for my art credits, not a bad choice since I’m still involved in music…all these many (many) years later! But I did have a few “starring moments”…

In Grade 3, I played the Wicked Queen in Snow White and in Grade 6, I secured the part of Crown Attorney in the Trial of Goldilocks! In Grade 7, I was one of 4 students chosen to participate in the big end of year Grade 8 play. They did a tribute to music and dance. I refused to be a boy. Instead I somehow used my “million dollar personality” to etch out 2 new female roles! In grade 8, I was given the lead playing a mousey college girl who was infatuated with the star of the football team…it really wasn’t a stretch! What was a stretch was playing a hooker in my Gr. 13 English classes – both English Lit. and English-Writing…some of my teachers just had a sick sense of humour! Bow chicka!

I’ve been on television three times, the last being in a toaster strudel commercial as a “dead coat-check girl”! Yup, zombie-fied in the style of a 1930’s B-movie star! I even had a little pillbox hat. But my favourite role was in college and for that one, I deserved at least an Oscar nomination! But that’s another story…

Haven’t we all had dramatic scenes in our lives that are “Oscar-worthy” – scenes with passion, intense anger, quiet strength, or complete lunacy? Moments that could pieced together as a montage, set to a highly polished, bass-heavy 1980’s rock ballad…I’m getting misty just thinking about it! I still think it would be fun to be on stage, but if real life is where the adventure is, then I guess we’ll just have to take on the world.

