Tags

, ,


” For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” –Eph. 2:8b

Saturday’s evening worship service was supposed to begin with a short inspirational video clip from a professional baseball player. Instead, we had technical difficulties and I had to talk about the video off the top of my head. I hope I was eloquent…I really wanted to be able to use the opening I had prepared about the speaker’s two key words: passion and confidence. It seemed incredibly ironic talking about confidence, since I wasn’t feeling confident in my abilities. Passion was easy – I have passion for God, passion for worship, and passion for this service that I had helped to plan and had spent time preparing for and praying over. But confidence? Yikes! I did not feel confident sitting on a platform in front of a keyboard with a microphone practically shoved up my nose. I did not feel confident speaking or singing with a voice that had threatened to croak all week. Even in my sassy green boots, I did not feel confident that my feet wouldn’t trip on the stairs when I had to move to the piano and back. And I didn’t feel confident that my fingers would always find the right notes, or that I would sing the right words. But I did feel confident that I was right where I was supposed to be…so I started the evening by talking about confidence:

We have confidence that Jesus died for our sins and when we acknowledge Him as the Lord and Saviour of our lives, scripture tells us our sins are as far as from the east is from the west. We have confidence that He will never leave us or forsake us. We have confidence that He has a better plan and purpose for our lives. We have confidence that He loves unconditionally. And we have confidence that someday we will meet with Him face to face in eternity, and He will reign forever.

I prayed over our service for the night, asked everyone to stand…and we worshipped the Lord. Part way through the service, following a reading and time of reflection, we asked those who were willing, to participate in an exercise. Amazingly, every one did. I hope I can post a picture tomorrow so you can see our “handiwork”.

It was an amazing night, and I am so blessed to have been a part of it. Maybe one of these times, I will approach it with confidence. Then again, maybe it’s better if I don’t!

