Tags

,


Most of the time, I’m used to not being noticed….and most of the time I’m ok with that. I worry about it a lot less than I used to and it’s not always a bad thing. For example, in high school, I never got noticed by the jocks, the cheerleaders, or the head bangers – it meant I didn’t get into trouble (I got into trouble any way, but that’s unrelated)…although there were still times when I wished a certain football player would notice me or a cheerleader would throw me a frickin’ bone!

Most recently, no one (meaning those who didn’t get notified) noticed my new haircut (I admit it wasn’t very radical from what was happening before…), my new eye glasses, or the fact that I wasn’t playing or singing…at all…for that last song during our first band rehearsal for an upcoming event. Everyone thought it sounded fantastic…I was too embarrassed to point out that I was lost. I have a lot of work to do…at home…alone…

“We all have insecurities. They piggyback on the vulnerability inherent in our humanity” –Beth Moore, So Long, Insecurity: You’ve Been a Bad Friend to Us.

I started reading this book on the weekend, fully expecting to start facing some long-standing insecurity issues. To make it better, I was warned that “those of you with fairly chronic cases are going to begin to feel insecure even about your insecurities”. Always good to learn the good news in the first chapter of the book! Believe it or not – I’m looking forward to reading more…and maybe sharing more…we’ll see just how self-conscious I get!

By the way, did anyone notice I was missing this week?

