Tags

, , , ,


Modesty: The quality or state of being unassuming or moderate in the estimation of one’s abilities; the quality of being relatively moderate, limited, or small in amount, rate, or level.

I have always been taught to be modest – in the way I dress, in the way I act, in the way I respond, particularly to compliments. Doesn’t it say in Romans 12:3, “Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment”?

So imagine my absolute shock and delight (I’ll admit), as well as my fear of being immodest, when I read that Mommyverbs had tagged me (along with more worthy bloggers) as “The Next Best Thing”. That title causes me to ponder – what is the best thing? Am I even better than sliced bread (gluten-free, of course)? Do I get a tiara and a sash? Have I ceased to be modest? Quite likely!

So, what is The Next Big Thing? It involves bloggers who either have a book under their belt, who are in the process of writing one, or who should be writing one. I fall into the last category…sort of…I would like to be a published writer. I have one binder filled with research, a folder somewhere in my closet with poems, short stories, etc. and a few children’s stories illustrated and cirlox-bound by me. These days, my blogging goal has been mostly to encourage people to laugh along with me (or at me – I’m not picky) – we can all relate to stepping in dog poo and getting frustrated with stupid drivers, but who really wants to know why I won’t wear socks the next time I go shopping for jeans? I’m not sure I could translate my craziness into a whole book. It would be fun to be the next Barbara Johnson! But even if it never transpires, I can hold on to this honourable compliment, which feels exceedingly good! So thank you – Mommyverbs – for making my heart sing!

Apparently, the rules are simple: answer a few questions regarding your completed work, work in progress, or best idea – and then tag five other bloggers whom you feel are on the book writing path. With that in mind, it was difficult to choose just one idea…and since I promised only last week to be as open and honest as possible, I am going to take a chance, assume someone is still reading, and share this personal (and quite possibly ridiculous) idea!

What is the title of your book? Not sure – maybe Waiting for [my son’s name]

Where did the idea come from for your book? My own personal journey through infertility, loss, and moving beyond the dream of having more kids.

What genre does your book fall under? Self-help? (I seriously need help so I’m not sure I should be helping others…)

Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition? Not really movie material.

What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book? God is Sovereign, and He never gives us a dream that He is not prepared to fill, sometimes in unexpected ways.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Well…I have no idea. I would love for it to be represented by an agency, but who knows if I will even get that far…

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Well…that’s a good question. I have only shared an overview of my story in a few blog posts (like Waiting for Little Guy) as well as once as part of a devotional talk.

What other books would you compare this story to? What if Your Blessings Come Through Raindrops by Laura Story.

Who or what inspired you to write the book?  Infertility (and miscarriage) are  not talked about often (unless you’re a celebrity without a “baby bump”). If you search for “infertility books”, you will find a vast assortment of informational books. Personally, someone who is hurting and feeling alone can absorb only so much sterile information. I wondered if there were others who were as heartbroken as me.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Hope. God provides. Maybe not in the way or in the timing that we expect or desire, but He does provide joy and freedom from fear and shame, and He gives us hope for the future.

And now I’m supposed to tag other folks as… “The Next Big Thing!” – which was no easy task so if your name isn’t here – it doesn’t mean that I don’t think you’re awesome or that you have it in you! (in other words…please don’t hate me…I’m hormonal. I might cry…)

http://quickwittier.wordpress.com

http://briannawithanaw.wordpress.com

http://pregoandtheloon.wordpress.com

http://adoptingjames.wordpress.com

http://jumpforjoyphotoproject.wordpress.com

