Tags

, , ,


Every morning should begin with one of these!(or maybe 2)

An Extra-Large Tim Horton’s Steeped Tea…black! Pure, unadulterated steaming liquid nectar!

I took Little Guy to a Starbuck’s once, and all these stereotypical, young, skinny people glared at me over their fashionable eye glasses and blackberries, as if I’d committed a federal offence. I must have missed the sign that said: No shoes, no shirt, no kids, no service! I was served without a smile – the air palpable with disdain…so we stayed! We sat in the middle of the place and shared our biscotti, Little Guy oblivious to the tension around us. It felt cold and sterile.

Tim Horton’s always seems full of laughter and people greeting each other with hugs…faces lines with age, hands scarred from labour, the mingling of generations. It seems filled with ordinary people who work hard and who read their kids bedtime stories. These are people who savour joy and sorrow…and the bliss of a hot cuppa with friends.

I love Tom Hank’s line in You’ve Got Mail (not that I agree with it entirely lest I create a coffee war!!):

The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.

I don’t need a defining sense of self; I know who I am – I’m ordinary!

References: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0128853/

