Tags

,


When I was a kid, my mother and brother would watch “Monster Movie Matinee” every Saturday afternoon…I was banned from the main floor of the house. I could play in my room or outside because even those jerky black and white movies would be just enough to set off my over active imagination, and I wouldn’t sleep for weeks. I couldn’t even watch Dr. Who without huddling under the covers in the wee hours of morning.

It’s quickly becoming that time of year again, when every movie and TV show focuses on evil deeds and creatures of the night. Even the commercials are hideous. And while I am definitely not a fan of schmaltzy “Hallmark” productions, I’m a not a fan of horror flicks either. But there are a few Halloween-ish shows I will watch, like the classic “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” and The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Big Guy and I watched The Rocky Horror Picture Show this weekend (it was our Saturday morning “cartoon”). Come to think of it, it was Hubby’s idea, but he only watched the first half before heading out to run some errands…

The Rocky Horror Picture Show was a film adaptation of the British rock musical play, The Rocky Horror Show by Richard O’Brien. It is a parody of B-movies – campy science fiction and horror films of the 40s and 50s. It opened in 1975 to small audiences, but on the midnight following April Fool’s Day 1976, The Rocky Horror Picture Show opened at the Waverly Theater, a leading midnight movie venue in New York. It is the longest-running release in film history.

The term “midnight movies” began in the 1950s, when some television stations aired low-budget genre films with a cynical narrator. Midnight screenings of offbeat or non-mainstream movies in theatres began in the early 1970s, with the intention of building a cult film audience. By the 1980s, the midnight movie phenomenon changed to an interactive campy experience. I have never attended a live theatre experience, but I’ve heard that the audience participates by dancing the Time Warp, and throwing toast (“A toast”), water, rolls of toilet paper (“Great Scott!”), hot dogs, and rice at appropriate points in the movie. Woo hoo!

If you haven’t seen the movie, and you have morals…I’m wouldn’t recommend it. To say it has “shock value” would be an understatement, even with the cheesy special effects, the outlandish costumes, and the ridiculous storyline. Hubby shared this movie with me several years ago and…what can I say? Tim Curry is fabulous, even if he’s wearing heels, pearls, and lingerie for most of the movie. I’m morally corrupt in a few small ways (or is this just one of those skeletons in my closet)…

“It’s just a jump to the left….And then a step to the right…”

References: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rocky_Horror_Picture_Show
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rocky_Horror_Picture_Show_cult_following
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midnight_movie
http://www.stlyrics.com/songs/h/horrorrocky10629/timewarp341755.html

