Tags

, , ,


…a morning without caffeine is like sleep…so if I don’t have an XL steeped tea (completely unadulterated by milk or sugar) from Tim Horton’s by 6:30 tomorrow morning, I can’t be held responsible for any paperwork I may (or may not) fill out.

Little Guy, Big Guy, and I will be volunteering, and Hubby will be riding, in the annual Ride for Refuge. I could ride my bike too, but since I can count the number of times I’ve been on a bike in the last 18 years on one hand, I thought it would be best if I didn’t try it. The last time I was on a bike (I Survived Mountain Biking), a tree broke my fall. I shudder to think what would happen if I were to ride on the city streets!

The Ride for Refuge helps churches and charities support people who are displaced, vulnerable, and exploited. These include those who are uprooted by war and political conflict, marginalized by gender discrimination and racial prejudice, and abused by the powerful.

70% of all donations in the Ride for Refuge are disbursed to participating churches and charities that raise a minimum of $4000. In 2011, the RIDE raised $1,252,580 in support of 175 approved registered charities who used our unique RIDE Partner Grant (RPG) Program. Last year, $60,000 of that was from our community, and we had around 400 riders come through the doors. We even had a family that chose to ride on unicycles…

Last year I worked in the kitchen. I had to be at the church before 6:30 a.m. in order to make coffee and tea, especially for the workers who were sitting in their cars on the side of the road at the checkpoints. It was a cold and drizzly day too. Then I had to help peel dozens of eggs and stand on a chair in order to mash them. I wasn’t tall enough to reach into the bottom of the really BIG pot… We served egg salad sandwiches and tomato soup to some pretty hungry, damp riders at lunch time…and then clean up all the dishes. We were pretty tired by the end, and even had one helper fall asleep on the kitchen floor. I’ve never known anyone who could fall asleep any where…and I’m not sure that was the safest or cleanest place.

This year, Little Guy will be handing out t-shirts to riders and Big Guy will be setting up checkpoints along the route. I will be registering riders…which means I have to at least look awake and be pleasant. Hence the XL steeped tea! I’m not a morning person…I can’t wait to see how well this goes. So tomorrow morning, while you’re lying in a cozy bed enjoying the puffy pillows, or sipping freshly brewed coffee while reading the Saturday funnies, have a laugh at my expense. I dare you!

