Tags

,


Something told the wild geese
It was time to go;
Though the fields lay golden
Something whispered, – ‘snow’.
-Rachel Lyman Field

I learned this poem in Grade 6, and it has always made me a little sad. Yesterday wasn’t the first time that I noticed signs of Fall. I have seen geese grazing in the fields near our church, and flying south. Little birds are gathering on the hydro wires, and yesterday a large flock of small, brown birds gathered on my neighbours lawn, and started pecking the ground. But every 10 seconds or so, they would fly across the street to another neighbour’s lawn. Back and forth, up and down the street, flocking from lawn to lawn. It looked so…silly!

The leaves are starting to change colour. This year we broke tradition and didn’t attend the country fair near my parents’ home on Labour Day weekend. Mom and I had taken Little Guy the last few years and met my Grandparents there. We didn’t have the heart to go this year after losing Grandpa, who always loved it. Normally we would see trees with scarlet and orange leaves in the swampy areas along the gravel road heading to the Fair. This year, it was mid-September before I started to notice the leaves changing.

It was dark when I brought in the laundry last night, and someone had a woodstove going. The acrid smell of smoke is different from a campfire…it’s hard to explain. I know a lot of people who love Fall. They love the changing colours, the crisp, cool air in the morning, and the rustle of dry leaves underfoot. I like those things too, but I still have days when I feel melancholy and reflective. I feel like I am losing something. Perhaps it is simply the fact that change is inevitable and we all have to go through these different seasons in our lives, including the losses.

Something told the wild geese
It was time to fly –
Summer sun was on their wings,
Winter in their cry.

The signs of Fall are all around me and winter is just around the corner…but with winter, comes the hope of Spring.

References: http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/something-told-the-wild-geese/

