Tags

, ,


Lately when Little Guy is getting ready for bed, he closes the bathroom door (which is a good thing). The problem is that it isn’t so much for modesty as to keep me from seeing what he’s doing…to drag out bedtime. Here’s a recent conversation (after he’s been in the bathroom for 10 minutes):

Me: What are you doing?
LG: Getting ready for bed.
Me: Are you brushing your teeth?
LG: No, going pee. [metallic clank, the sound of a plastic bottle bouncing off the floor, silence, toilet flushes, water running…silence]
Me: Now what’s happening? [door opens]
LG: Nothing
Me: [I peek in the bathroom] You were playing, weren’t you?
LG: [pause, “deer in the headlights” look] How did you know?

Well, I immediately had a number of responses run through my head.
1) I could remind him that I’m a mother and therefore I have x-ray vision;
2) I could use sarcasm and point out that I’m not as dumb as I look (but sarcasm is lost on a 6 year old. And if it isn’t, then I’m in trouble – what will he have left to perfect when he’s a teenager?);
3) I could tell him the truth – I can hear through the door; or
4) I could point out that there were bath toys lined up in front of the toilet!

Little Guy has always liked to play in the sink. He used to stand on a chair in front of the kitchen sink and pour water back and forth between an assortment of containers. I couldn’t leave dish water in the sink or dirty dishes soaking nearby because he’d be playing in it. It got so bad at one point, that if I started to run the tap, he’d come running, dragging a chair with him. It reminded me of all the times my cat (RIP) would run to the kitchen every time I started the can opener. We called Little Guy our Mad Scientist. He had perfected the evil laugh before the age of 2. Apparently the Mad Scientist is reappearing at bedtime…Let’s hope the evil laugh doesn’t appear at bedtime, or I may start to have nightmares.

