Tags

, ,


Once upon a time…don’t all the best stories start this way?…my Grandmother gave me a plant. She called it an “Elephant Ear” plant (Colocasia) because the leaves are shaped like… you guessed it, elephant’s ears. This plant was about 12″ tall and it sat on my piano for 7 years. It would lose leaves and grown new leaves, but it never grew any taller. Once it grew a new stem…sideways. It was trying to reach the light.

A few years ago, I moved it upstairs to my bedroom. And it grew and grew. The difficulty I have with plants is that I can’t stand to throw them out or let them die. So when this plant got too big, I cut a piece and transplanted it. This one plant is now 4 plants…(I gave one to my Mom) and for the first time, they bloomed pretty pink blossoms…

Hubby calls the remaining plants lined up in front of my bedroom window The Jungle, because they’ve become a little overgrown. Okay…a lot! Opening and closing the curtains requires two hands, and sometimes arms. Walking between the bed and window is like walking along a pew at church – the interesting sideways shuffle, only tighter. You really have to suck it in and move slowly. The plant in the middle is so top heavy that I have to lean it against its neighbour so it doesn’t fall. And the little one in the yellow pot – that’s a gerbera daisy. It hasn’t bloomed in over a year, but I keep watering it and keeps growing leaves. I’m still hoping. My violet didn’t bloom for over 3 years, so I transplanted and moved it and it has 4 big striped purple and white flowers. So maybe some day…

Actually, it doesn’t look so bad in this picture! I suppose the time to trim it down has come but I’m having trouble facing it. I have no more room for any more plants and I hate the idea of throwing out pieces of it. If this were a horror flick, I am sure by now I would have been attacked by it in the night…and if it knew what I was thinking…

 

 

 

