Tags

, , ,


“I wonder if I can get lipstick to match my toenail polish”? Marinate in that comment for a moment – how do you compare your lips and your toes at the same time, without standing on your head or hopping on one foot? My Mom made this side comment, and I immediately saw the potential for a shopping trip! (That’s a problem with watching too many make-over shows!) So Mom and I headed to a local department store, trying to come up with some ingenious ways to make that kind of comparison.

I used to wear make-up every day – to work, to church…even to bed. What can I say? I’m too lazy to take time to take it off! As a teenager, my brother related putting on make-up to hunting…for “a man”! To say it properly, you have to have seen the movie, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?…in particular, that scene where Roger Rabbit thinks he’s found his wife, Jessica Rabbit, but he’s only found a character with her hot body…but it’s SO not her! If you don’t know what I’m referring to, try saying “a man” in a high-pitched drawl that goes up while emphasising the first part of “man”!

Since being home with Little Guy, there hasn’t been much point in make-up! I haven’t given up completely, but my “regime” doesn’t begin to be what it was…and I’m ok with that! But it’s always fun to try a few new things. Wandering through those aisles was like being a kid in a candy shop – lots of bright packaging and sparkle, containers of all shapes and sizes, and every colour imaginable! Wow! I couldn’t begin to expand on all the options available in one post – eye shadow, eye liner, blush, foundation, mascara, lipstick, lip gloss, eyebrow pencils…creams, powders, aerosols….and accessories. There were gadgets that looked liked they belonged in a horror film.

In the end, we didn’t buy much… I bought some green eye shadow and black liquid eye liner. I have been practicing applying the eye liner every morning – I want a smoky eye, not a raccoon eye. My Mom got lipstick…that matches her toe nail polish. I offered to put the lipstick on and lie on the floor so she could compare them, but she was worried we’d garner too much of the wrong kind of attention. What’s wrong with that?

I finally broke down and got my hair cut… I haven’t gone for a hair cut since Christmas and ignoring it really wasn’t a good option either. It’s not exactly worthy to be my new “midlife crisis” hairdo…but it’s a “do” that will do until I figure out what to do!

